Back to Basics

I’ve tried this before, albeit unsuccessfully. However, I’ll try again. As they say in life, if you fall down, you get up and try again.

A recent realization crept up on me: I have to get personal in my blog for it to be matter…to me. In the past, I’ve scribbled down my thoughts at random and made it all personally impersonal. As I’ve grown older, I’ve learned that personal experiences make for the best reading. Big thanks to Humblethepoet and his magical book “Unlearn: 101 Simple Truths For A Better Life.” It’s not a self-help book, but rather a book of 101 wonderful tidbits that speak truth on every level.

Even though I’ve decided to all of a sudden become “personal” in this blog and tell you all my experiences, I’m finding it very hard to say anything about my personal life. I can tell you a brief history, but that’s quite dull. I can jump right in, and you can learn about me along the way…actually I like that idea. We’ll do that then.

Today’s a typical Sunday in the Patel household, NFL games on every TV, a general laziness in the air, and my daughter’s cooing and gurgling laughter filling the air as she amuses herself in her floor activity center. Well, until she gets fed up anyways. As usual, whilst there is calm and serenity lulling everyone to a warm and comfortable day of leisure, my mind is in motion:What do I make for dinner? Well, what’s in the fridge? Shoot I need to get groceries again. Do I have time to read? Have I brushed my teeth yet? Of course, it’s the laundry that needs doing. blah blah blah. It’s an exhausting place my mind. At least on the outside, I’ve got this cool as a cucumber demeanor. You’d never know the roadrunner was doing laps in my head by looking at me. It’s part of being a mum I’ve learned.

What I mean to say is that, two and a half years ago when my husband and I got married, we pretty much did what we wanted when we wanted. We never were the crazy, stay out all night, party party party, sort, but we did do things as we pleased. There was some planning involved, but generally we were flexible. Now that we’re parents, everything is different. Well duh. My day is planned out the night before, and I would be a mess without the routine I’ve created for myself, my daughter, and my family. When I was younger, I scoffed at routines and the simplicity of family life. I wanted adventure, romance, and all the things young people who mistake themselves for pirates want. Now, I don’t know what I would do without my routines and bedtimes.

Being a mum is so much more than I ever thought possible. Obviously when you’re in charge of another life there is a lot that goes into it, but macaroni and cheese it’s more than even that. To be honest though, I wouldn’t change one milisecond of it. Well, my little one is quite annoyed of her toys and frankly, I’d like a good cuddle as well…so until next time.

4 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. SG says:

    That does sound pretty stressful. Do you miss that flexibility that you and your husband had before having a daughter (congrats by the way)? My parents have been pushing me to get married – I’ve been dating my girlfriend for 10 years but I just don’t feel I’m ready.

    Anyhow, nice seeing a post from you again. Hopefully you’re updating regularly! All the best

    • Thank you! I missed the flexibility early on as Arya’s schedule consisted of: eat, sleep, wake up and cry, poop, eat, etc. Now that she’s getting older, it’s become easier. She enjoys a multitude of things and it’s nice doing things as a family.

      Ahh, no one likes being pushed into marriage, and if you feel you’re not ready and you and your girlfriend are on the same page…there should be no rush. The parents may not like it, but they’ll get used to it. Parents are pretty awesome like that.

      Thank you! I plan on it. =)

  2. jPatel says:

    Welcome Back!!
    I usually don’t follow any blog but yours is exception because First, I see my future situation in your post. Second, we kind a think same way and of course we belongs to same culture.
    When can I expect something special like “Burger & Chai” 🙂
    Please keep this going this time!!

Leave a Reply

