New City.New Life.Same ol’ Me.

So some of you may be wondering where in the world I disappeared to. What happened was, I was enjoying the mundane banalities of everyday life (no, not really), and then one day, got the sudden urge to make a change. SO I actively engaged in some self-reflection and decided something equally outrageous and life-altering was in order. Queue the months of my Houdiniesque disappearing act. As I smugly hum “Where in the world is Carmen San Diego”, I realize I should have kept some kind of journal about the alterations that ensued once the initial decision had been made to enact said change. Well here I am now, excitingly, albeit belatedly, relaying my thus far amazing adventure to you my dear stalkers.

I moved cities at the end of the summer. Yes, it was exhilarating. Yes, it was equally as terrifying. Prior, I had never lived away from my snug and cozy home. I had never ventured out of the city in which I grew up. Each street held a precious memory, each stoplight carried a hilarious story, each fluttering of the breeze accompanied a lingering laugh, every thunderstorm encompassed a torrent of emotions, and in each star I viewed from my bedroom window, there lived a hope, a wish, a desire. Leaving all of that behind was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do in my life. Not only for the reasons above, but also because of the people I was leaving. My heart and soul beat solely out of love for my baby brother. He is the light of my life, the reason I am who I am today, and the reason why I chose the path I have in life. He’s influenced my entire life, and that sweet, charismatic, brilliant boy doesn’t even know it. His purity shines through him in a effervescent glow and I pray every day that he never loses it.

Continuing on, the new city I moved to is absolutely wonderful! Honestly, it truly is. Hills galore, so much local art and culture I can hardly bear it, and a unique demographic that has my senses tingling and my heart fluttering. If ever a city was to win my heart over so quickly, I’m glad it’s this one. Every.single.day I see sunrises that take my breath away, every afternoon I smell smells that bring goosebumps to my skin, and make my stomach growl and protest in a very unladylike fashion, every evening I experience the buzzing nightlife; a city filled with millions of souls searching for an unforgettable adventure. I love this city and all the memories we have to offer one another this year.

Now, back to this colossal change I keep harping about, but have yet to tell you of. Shall I delay any longer? No you say, so be it. *drum roll please* I’ve began working at a non-profit organization in this new and beautiful city. It is a brilliant organization that seeks to lower the dropout rate in the country by serving in inner-city schools as coaches, tutors, and role models. The hours are grueling and the pay is miserly, but the challenge…oh the challenge to actually be on the front line and make a difference? Make a real difference…I live for it. This organization is not something you can just do. You have to LIVE it, BREATHE it, ABSORB every aspect of it. In order to truly understand the type of impact you can make, you have to be willing to be told you’re crazy. Because if I really sit back and think about it, all of us that are in this organization have to be at least a little crazy..the good kind of course.

Speaking of people, I am utterly and completely in love with the people I’ve met here thus far. Never in my life could I have imagined that within this world of 7 billion or so people, I would meet a large group of young adults that had the same idealist mindset that I do. We encompass an ideology that is idealistic, yet realistic. Contradictory? Not really. These people I work with strive to make a difference, yet they understand that change does not happen overnight. This task we’ve taken on is a marathon, not a sprint. I am crazy about the people I’ve met, the people I work with, and the lives that are being changed by the goodness around us.

All in All, the transition has been mind blowing, and the stories unending. I will definitely be back with more to share, you can count on that. At the very least, I hope your appetite has been wet for the incredible journey ahead.

You stay classy San Antonio.

3 thoughts on “New City.New Life.Same ol’ Me.

  1. Murtuza says:

    Change sure brings a lot of… er, change doesn’t it? Well, I think this is change for the better. Hope you and your brother enjoy yourselves 🙂
    And best of luck in your mentoring/teaching program.

Leave a Reply

