Inner Peace

At my yoga class today, my instructor said something interesting and profound:

” If you change your wants into preferences, you open yourself to a whole new world. Want’s breed expectations, and expectations lead to disappointments; and expectation and disappointment are horrible companions to have.

She went on to tell us that meditation is isn’t about creating that perfect little place in your room with your favorite mat and blanket, it’s about being able to be in 105 degree weather, in rush hour traffic, staring at the back of the blue suburban that’s just cut you off for the 3rd time, trying to hold in your pee, and being able to be at peace with your situation. Yoga is all about inner peace; your geographical location is irrelevant.

Hatha Yoga puts you in that sweltering hot room and forces you to disregard EVERYTHING except yourself. It makes it necessary for you to leave your judgement and self-loathing at the door; it strips down your defenses and makes you take a good hard look at yourself. I’ve come to realize and appreciate that yoga isn’t just a form of exercise, it’s a lifestyle. One that I’m beginning to greatly appreciate and love.

You know, I sit here and ramble and go on about things I think of and what not….but does anyone even read this? Hmmm *scratches head*  I wonder. Well, here’s a challenge, if you have read this, or any of my other posts, I dare you to leave me a comment. Good, bad, nice, mean, who cares! Be like Nike and “Just Do It”!

Stay classy amigos.

11 thoughts on “Inner Peace

  1. Anonymous says:

    There are readers to your words. How many? You’d be surprised.

    The reason for the lack of commentary is neither due to ignorant eyes and occluded mouths, but rather to hungry pupils and satisfied smiles. Your insight leaves the mind content. Rest assured.

  2. Anonymous says:

    The thanks are all yours. I’m grateful for the postings.

    Have a good night. I’ll leave a comment every now-and-again to feed your passion.

  3. Me On Life says:

    Thank you for the post. Words to ponder for sure. I’ve only read two of your posts, and I love it here already!
    ~Namaste

Leave a Reply

