The Gargoyle

While I was away in London I had the opportunity to read some fantastic novels. I was lucky enough to encounter true brilliance within the stories I read and the authors my brother found whilst overseas.

A book that still haunts me is The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson. One of the most original and breathtaking books I’ve read in a long time. The story is about a car crash survivor who ends up in the burn ward. Full of self pity and loathing he has nothing and no one. Then one day, in walks Marianne Engel; a beautiful artist of grotesques. She claims they are lovers from 14th century Germany, and that she has found him once again. What ensues, is a story of faith, love, and forgiveness.

“Love is as strong as death, as hard as hell. Death separates the soul from the body, but love separates all things from the soul.”

-Meister Eckhart

This book is a definite MUST READ. It is enthralling, seductive, and captivating. I literally could not put it down without getting anxious about the fate of the narrator and his 14 th century love. READ IT!

Leave a Reply

